Mighty Hawkeye Battalion Army ROTC Alumni Association Board of Director's Meeting May 22, 2014 6:00-6:40 pm

PRESENT

- 1. Brad Cook '95
- 2. Dave Deyak former PMS
- 3. Steve Fredericks '69 and former PMS
- 4. Rob Hedgepeth '88
- 5. Todd Jacobus '88
- 6. Dave Lewis '89
- 7. Luke Peters '89
- 8. Dave Pinter '90
- 9. Walter Prentice '69
- 10. Anthony Reynolds '10
- 11. Joe Rozek '73
- 12. Scott Stribe '10
- 13. Eric Winkie '84
- 14. Tony Wolf '85

NOT PRESENT

- 15. Vance Stewart
- 1. Rob Hedgepeth opened the meeting by doing a role call. We have 15 members on our Board of Directors. Each of the 15 newly seated members and 14 of 15 were able to call in. A quorum was present.
- 2. Rob Hedgepeth welcomed all present on this tele-conference, and congratulated all members on being elected to serve on the first board of directors.
- 3. First item of business was to select officers from the members of the Board.
- a. Nominees for President were solicited, motion by Steve Fredericks w/ second by Joe Rozek that nominations cease. Rob Hedgepeth was unanimously selected as President.
- b. Nominees for Vice President were solicited, motion by Luke Peters w/ second by Eric Winkie that nominations cease. Dave Lewis was unanimously selected as Vice President.
- c. Nominees for Secretary were solicited, motion by Dave Deyak w/ second by Luke Peters that nominations cease. Todd Jacobus was unanimously selected as Secretary.
- d. Nominations for Treasurer were solicited. No members volunteered to serve as Treasurer.
- 4. Motion by Dave Pinter that Todd Jacobus serve as Interim Treasurer until such time as a Treasurer is identified. Second by Steven Fredericks. Motion carried unanimously.
- 5. The bylaws provide for the membership of the Association to elect five new board members annually, and five members will rotate off the board. This will provide continuity for the board from year to year. Members with expiring terms can serve consecutive terms. The tenure of this board aligns with the 2015 Academic Year, so the next slate of five Board Members will be elected in August 2015. In order to start this rotation, volunteers were solicited for members to take a one, two or three year term.

- a. The following board members agree to a one year obligation: Brad Cook, Joe Rozek, Dave Deyak, Eric Winkie. Vance Stewart was assigned a one year term.
- b. The following board members agree with a two year obligation: Steve Fredericks, Walter Prentiss, Anthony Reynolds, Scott Stribe, Tony Wolf.
- c. The following board members agree with a three year obligation: Rob Hedgepeth, Todd Jacobus, Dave Lewis, Luke Peters, Dave Pinter.
- 6. Motion by Luke Peters to accept the slate of Board of Directors as outlined above. Second by Dave Lewis. Approved unanimously.
- 7. We need someone to work with the Hawkeye Battalion ROTC program to organize an alumni function for the 2014 Game Ball Run. The Iowa Iowa State football game is on September 13, 2014, in Iowa City. Suggestion that we have co-chairs working this one in Iowa City area, and another in Des Moines area.
- 8. Steve Fredericks, Eric Winkie, and Luke Peters volunteered to be co-sponsors of Game Ball Run. Joe Rozek volunteered to liaison with The University of Iowa Athletic Department, as he has a contact working there.
- 9. LTC Joe Albrecht, who is currently the Professor of Military Science, was selected for Command of the 3-16th Cavalry Squadron, and leave Iowa City on July 1, 2015. The position is advertised, and we may want to quickly reach out to applicable year group Hawkeye Battalion Alums to apply to fill the position.

Respectfully submitted,

Todd M. Jacobus

Secretary

Mighty Hawkeye Battalion Army ROTC Alumni Association (MHAA)